Upcoming Events

The events on this page are either organized by coalition members or suggested by coalition members. If you are interested in participating and need more info, please contact the organization listed. If you have an event you’d like to add to this page, click here to add an event.
Jan 30

Healthy Kids

Wed, Jan 30, 2019 @ 6:15 PM
Through JMU Morrison Bruce Center

Healthy Kids is a program hosted by the Morrison Bruce Center designed to engage children in physical activity while teaching them about healthy eating habits. This program will take place every Wednesday evening from 6:15-7:30 pm, beginning on January 30th and running through April 10th(excluding . . .

More Info about Healthy Kids


Feb 08

Teen Social Night

Fri, Feb 08, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Through Shenandoah Valley Autism Partnership

An opportunity for teenagers with autism and other disabilities to hang out together, play games, talk, and socialize. Activities are facilitated by JMU Nursing Students. All sessions are supervised by a Board Certified Behavior Analyst.

More Info about Teen Social Night


Feb 14

Yoga and Mindfulness

Thu, Feb 14, 2019 @ 5:30 PM
Through JMU Occupational Therapy Clinical Education Services

In this fun and engaging 8 week course, children will have the opportunity to: • Learn self-regulating tools, including calming poses, visualizations, and breath work? • Participate in cooperative games to build communication and social skills, while making new friends? • Explore principles of yoga, . . .

More Info about Yoga and Mindfulness


Mar 04

Little Hands Yoga

Mon, Mar 04, 2019 @ 9:00 AM
Through JMU Occupational Therapy Clinical Education Services

During this six-week course led by an occupational therapist, parents and children will participate in songs, games, and stories while learning preschooler- friendly yoga poses. Children ages 2-4 will have the opportunity to learn new motor and listening skills through repetition and play. The . . .

More Info about Little Hands Yoga


Mar 16

Movin’ and Groovin’ Day

Sat, Mar 16, 2019 @ 9:00 AM
Through JMU Morrison Bruce Center

The Morrison Bruce Center’s 14th Annual Movin’ and Groovin’ Day! Come participate in a fun, engaging day dedicated to empowering young girls to live health lives! Participants will navigate through eight different stations as they learn about muscular fitness, cardiorespiratory fitness, flexibility, . . .

More Info about Movin’ and Groovin’ Day


Mar 28

Unified Basketball Tournament

Thu, Mar 28, 2019 @ 5:00 PM
Through Shenandoah County Special Olympics

Event is at the Central High School main gym in Woodstock, VA (1147 Susan Avenue), Exit 283 off of I-81. Please email shencoSO@gmail.com to register for the event! Both teams and individuals are welcome!

More Info about Unified Basketball Tournament


Previous events

Santa Run, Walk, ‘N Roll

Fri, Dec 07, 2018 @ 5:30 PM
Through The Arc of Harrisonburg and Rockingham

Girls on the Run 5k

Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 2:00 PM
Through Girls on the Run of the Shenandoah Valley

OTCES Halloween Open House

Wed, Oct 31, 2018 @ 7:00 PM
Through JMU Occupational Therapy Clinical Education Services

Project C.L.I.M.B. Trick or Treat

Wed, Oct 31, 2018 @ 5:00 PM
Through Overcoming Barriers, Project C.L.I.M.B., JMU

Inclusion Day, Wenonah Elementary

Thu, Oct 25, 2018

Children’s Harvest Festival

Sat, Oct 20, 2018 @ 11:00 AM
Through Edith J. Carrier Arboretum

Family Fit Night

Fri, Oct 19, 2018 @ 6:00 PM
Through Morrison Bruce Center, JMU

Parent Information Session: Linking Community Agencies and Services

Wed, Oct 17, 2018 @ 5:30 PM

Inclusive Music Festival

Sun, Oct 14, 2018 @ 1:00 PM
Through The Play Well Foundation

Builders and Bulldozers

Mon, Sep 17, 2018 @ 9:30 AM
Through Empowerment3

Forbes Center Open House

Sat, Sep 08, 2018 @ 10:00 AM
Through JMU

Smith Mountain Lake Outdoor Day

Sat, Aug 25, 2018 @ 8:00 AM
Through VAWS & LEAP

Veins & Vines

Sat, May 26, 2018 @ 7:00 PM

Wall Residences Orientation

Mon, Apr 30, 2018 @ 4:00 PM

Harrisonburg City Public Schools – Spring Fling

Sat, Apr 28, 2018 @ 11:00 AM

Lifting the spirit of the caregiver

Tue, Apr 17, 2018 @ 6:00 PM

Family Fun Day & Open House Event

Sat, Apr 14, 2018 @ 9:00 AM

Inclusive Dance Class (ages 4-15)

Sat, Apr 14, 2018 @ 9:30 AM

Screening of “Paul’s Story”

Fri, Apr 13, 2018 @ 9:00 AM

Performance with Winchester University Dance Department

Fri, Apr 13, 2018 @ 8:00 PM

Training on Inclusive Movement Practices

Thu, Apr 12, 2018 @ 8:30 AM

Creative Movement Class with Harrisonburg Arc Members

Thu, Apr 12, 2018 @ 9:30 AM

Screening of “Freddie’s Story” and “Paul’s Story”

Wed, Apr 11, 2018 @ 7:00 PM

Zumba with Kia

Tue, Apr 10, 2018 @ 5:45 PM